Taking the plunge into surfy locks.

blog
Left: Courtesy of Google. Right: Privately owned.

Over the past few months to the past year I have noticed that an increasing number of ladies are opting for the ‘long bob’ look – and I could not love it more. I myself have been debating for months over whether I dare get the chop I mean sure, some of my faves like Sarah Hyland look effortlessly flawless with their short do but us normies run the risk of looking boy (but not in the cute way). One of the consistent things I noticed was that all the best hairdos featured beachy waves. This is something which alludes me unless, like the picture above) I have just been to the hairdressers. I sat and watched Sam (best hairdresser in the World btw) do all sorts to my locks to achieve the coveted, textured look and felt almost immediately resigned that I’ll never look like that again unless I spend unholy amounts of money on product.

I have, however, found some tips for that beachy look on your long bob look as well as a few different options:

Option One

  1. Wash the hair but do not hair dry (best done on a night).
  2. Tie hair into tight plaits.
  3. Spray hair with sea salt spray  – this stuff can be expensive but there are a lot of DIY choices out there that can work out cheaper, my favourite is this one: http://wellnessmama.com/5054/beach-waves-hair-spray/ which gives you a few different ingredient selections.
  4. Allow hair to naturally dry.

Option Two 

  1. When hair is dry apply a mouse to sections of the hair to add volume.
  2. Spray the hair first with something called ‘hair clay’ this adds texture  and hold to the hair but does not give it a ‘claggy’ feel like a lot of sprays.
  3. Using straightners lightly curl the hair to give it a wavy look.
  4. Once again spray with your choice of sea salt spray.The key seems to be the sea salt spray but this can dry your hair out so make sure to condition your hair and perhaps even treat it with oil in between styles. 
Leave a Reply

